- Things To Do!
- Food & Drink Directory
- Festivals & Events
- Capital River Region
HISTORIC GARRISON DISTRICT
The Historic Garrison District is the National Historic Site is where you'll find an enticing blend of musicians, artists and historic re-enactments. It is Fredericton's historic and cultural heart. Located in the city's beautiful downtown, corner of Queen and Carleton Streets, next to the St. John River, the Garrison is a centre for heritage, culture, craft and entertainment. Visitors will find a variety of attractions and activities in the Historic Garrison District including the Changing of the Guard, tours, concerts, artisans at work, gift shops, and live theatre.
Set back behind a wrought iron and stone fence, Fredericton’s Historic Garrison District originally consisted of the two-block area bounded by Queen, York, Campbell, and Regent Sts. British troops were garrisoned here from 1784 until 1869.
The first buildings on this site were made of wood and later replaced by stone structures. Fredericton’s Historic Garrison District was declared a National Historic Site in 1964, and in 1965 was designated a protected Provincial Historic Site.
Choose from a diverse program of workshops including jewellery making, textiles, photography, painting, music, pottery, heritage programming and so much more. Over 120 workshops are delivered by experts, with small class sizes and personalized attention. Workshops are week-long, weekend, or one day, offered from July 4 - 24, 2016.
Free nightly entertainment in the summer includes outdoor concerts, outdoor summer theatre, croquet match, Changing of the Guard, and Under the Stars Classic Films Series. Click Garrison Entertainment for more details.
11:15am (French) & 1:15pm (English) at the Guardhouse. Daily, except Wednesday & Sunday. July 2 - September 5, 2016. Price: $9 per child + tax, 506-460-2837.
This one hour historical experience is geared towards children 6-12 years of age. Each child dresses in the red tunic of the British regiment and is provided with a guided tour of the Guard House, military office and cell block, as well as restored Barracks room where more than 200 British soldiers were stationed during the early 1880s. Each child receives a souvenir photo. Click here for more information.
Three different tours, approximately one hour each, start from City Hall with a costumed guide. July 1 - September 5, 506-460-2129.
10am - The River Route - Follows Queen St. through Historic Garrison District to the Pedway and then downriver to the Lighthouse and Beaverbrook Art Gallery and turns back up Queen St. to Officers' Square ending at the Changing of the Guard.
2:30pm - The Capital City Circuit - Follows Queen Street to Parliament Square and along Church St. to George St. past the Fredericton Boyce Farmers Market and through the central cemetery and back into the Historic Garrison District.
5pm - The Garrison Gait - Within the wrought iron and stone fence markings of the Historic Garrison District. Please note that this tour begins at the Guard House.
From June 20 - 30 and again from September 6 - October 10, tours will be offered once daily at 4pm, departing from City Hall.
Audio tours are available from Heritage Trust to guide listeners on a one-hour walking tour highlighting key landmarks of the city’s built heritage. Tours can be downloaded in mp3 format (including iPods) from www.heritagefredericton.org
Corner of Queen & Carleton Streets in the Old Soldiers' Barracks. Visit our unique shops where local artists are crafting and selling their wares in the lower level of a thee-storey stone & wooden structure built by the British Army in 1827. The Fredericton Arts Alliance artists-in-residence series is also hosted on-site with a rotating schedule of fine craft and visual artists demonstrating their various disciplines. From the River Valley Crafts shop you can receiving visitor information, obtain tickets for programming within the Historic Garrison District, purchase NB-made fine craft souvenirs and refreshments.